Disney+ planning multiple ‘Star Wars' series, 10 Marvel Studios series

Ewan McGregor,  Hayden Christensen to reprise roles in Obi-Wan Kenobi.

By Jeremy Kay 14 Dec 2020

Disney+ planning multiple ‘Star Wars' series, 10 Marvel Studios series

Disney+ is planning multiple Star Wars series with Lucasfilm and 10 series from Marvel Studios in the next few years.

The shows, announced separately by Lucasfilm head Kathleen Kennedy and Marvel Studios head Kevin Feige during Disney Investor Day on Thursday (December 10), include stand-alone series Obi Wan Kenobi in which Ewan McGregor reprises his role opposite Hayden Christensen returning as Darth Vader.

“This will be the rematch of the century,” said Kennedy.

Feige showed footage from Wandavision starring Paul Bettany and Elisabeth Olsen which is set to debut on the platform on January 15, 2021, and upcoming shows Loki starring Tom Hiddleston and The Falcon & The Winter Soldier with Anthony Mackie.

The announced Star Wars shows are:

Obi-Wan Kenobi: set 10 years after events in Star Wars: Revenge Of The Sith, the series will star Ewan McGregor with Hayden Christensen returning as Darth Vader, and is scheduled to start production in March 2021;

Rangers Of The New Republic from Jon Favreau and Dave Filoni, set in the Mandalorian era;

Ahsoka from Jon Favreau and Dave Filoni, set in the Mandalorian era, and based on the character Ahsoka Tano;

Andor: a spy thriller created by Tony Gilroy that started production in London two weeks ago. The cast includes Diego Luna, Stellan Skarsgaard, Genevieve O’Reilly, and Fiona Shaw;

Star Wars: The Bad Batch: an animated series;

Star Wars: Visions; an anime anthology;

Lando, created by Justin Simien;

The Acolyte: a mystery thriller from Leslye Headland set in the final days of the High Republic era;

A Droid Story; and

Willow: as previously announced, Lucasfilm is revisiting the property created by George Lucas, with Warwick Davis returning in the title role. Set to commence shooting in Wales in March 2021, to debut in 2022.

The announced Marvel Studios shows are:

Secret Invasion starring Samuel L. Jackson as Nick Fury and Nick Fury and Ben Mendelsohn as the Skrull Talos;

Ironheart with Dominique Thorne (If Beale Street Could Talk) as a genius inventor Riri Williams; and

Armor Wars starring Don Cheadle as James Rhodes aka War Machine.

Previously announced Disney+ titles:

WandaVision starring Paul Bettany and Elisabeth Olsen, to debut on January 15, 2021;

The Falcon And The Winter Soldier starring Anthony Mackie, to debut March 19, 2021;

Hawkeye with Hailee Steinfeld joining Jeremy Renner, to debut late 2021;

Loki starring Tom Hiddleston, Owen Wilson, and Richard E. Grant, to debut May 2021;

Ms. Marvel to debut late 2021;

She-Hulk comedy series starring Tatiana Maslany alongside Mark Ruffalo and Tim Roth; and

Moon Knight: Mohamed Diab directs show about a vigilante who suffers from dissociative identity disorder where the multiple identities who live inside him appear against a backdrop of Egyptian iconography.

Latest news & features

Featured profiles

Promote your services with KFTV

Choose from three profile types - Basic, Silver and Gold

Create Profile

We offer a range of display advertising opportunities.

Learn More